Agatha Christie

Dame Agatha Mary Clarissa Christie Lady Mallowan DBE ne Miller 15 September 1890 12 January 1976 was an English writer known for her 66 detective novels and 14 short story collections particularly those revolving around fictional detectives Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple. She also wrote the worlds longestrunning play The Mousetrap and six romances under the pseudonym Mary Westmacott. In 1971 she was appointed a Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire DBE for her contribution to literature.